Regional Homeland Security Coordinating Committee

This site was created in cooperation with the Regional Homeland Security Coordinating Committee, and is supported by funding from the Department of Homeland Security.


Regional Planning Efforts

The Greater Kansas City area includes 1.7 million people in eight counties — three on the Kansas side of the state line and five in Missouri. Geographically, the region covers about 3,800 square miles — an area roughly the size of the state of Connecticut. The eight counties also include 116 city governments, and are served by more than 75 fire and EMS agencies. Jurisdictional boundaries are often crossed by emergency responders, and mutual aid agreements are essential.

The region has a long history of cooperation among emergency agencies. The Mid-America Regional Council Emergency Rescue Committee (MARCER) was formed in the late 1970s. In the 1980s and 1990s, regional leaders came together to form the Metropolitan Medical Response System (MMRS) Committee, the Mid-America Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) and the Metropolitan Emergency Managers Committee (MEMC).

With these committee structures and working relationships already in place, the Mid-America Regional Council was a natural fit for the homeland security efforts that expanded rapidly after September 11. The MARC Board of Directors formed the Regional Homeland Security Coordinating Committee (RHSCC) in May 2002, and appointed about 30 local leaders — including elected officials, fire chiefs, police chiefs, city and county administrators and others from the existing committees — to its membership. The RHSCC meets bimonthly to set policies and receive reports from a dozen operational subcommittees.

The RHSCC works with the preexisting organizations and a number of subcommittees to focus regional efforts on an all-hazards approach to emergency preparedness, guiding investments in ways that strengthen regional response capabilities. For more information about regional emergency planning, visit